Economic Development Department

History

In 1993, the Office of Economic Development was created to promote and facilitate business development, to create and implement economic development strategy, and to strengthen ties with the private sector.

Through its many achievements and a strong reputation for reliability, on July 1, 2006, the Office of Economic Development gained department status becoming the Economic Development Department.

Contact Information

Quick Contacts

Media inquiries:
Sarah Wheeler, swheeler@cabq.gov

To request a meeting with the department director:
Chandler Kay, (505) 768-3275 or ckay@cabq.gov

City incentives and Small Business Regulatory Advisory Commission:
Monica Mitchell, mmitchell@cabq.gov

Lodgers’ Tax Advisory Board:
Chris Chavez, (505) 768-3292 or chrisjchavez@cabq.gov

Full Staff Contact Information

Synthia Jaramillo, Department Director
(505) 768-3270

Monica Mitchell, Sr. Economic Developer
(505) 768-3226 or mmitchell@cabq.gov

Damian Lara, Deputy Director
(505) 932-8450 or dlara@cabq.gov

Christopher Chavez, Planner
(505) 768-3292 or chrisjchavez@cabq.gov

Chandler Kay, Executive Assistant
(505) 768-3266 or ckay@cabq.gov

Sonja Romero, ED Coordinator
(505) 768-3268 or sonjaromero@cabq.gov

David Sayers, Small Business Office Manager
(505) 252-3473 or dsayers@cabq.gov

Sarah Wheeler, Marketing & Communications Coordinator
swheeler@cabq.gov

Film Office

Rebecca Cavalier, Film Coordinator
(505) 768-3289 or rcavalier@cabq.gov

Santana Garcia, Film Permit Assistant
(505) 768-3283 or smgarcia@cabq.gov

International Trade Office

Randy Trask, International Trade Office Manager
(505) 768-3286 or randy@nmtradealliance.org

Celeste Nuñez, Program Manager
(505)-768-3266 or celeste@nmtradealliance.org

Economic Development Team

DAMIAN LARA

DAMIAN LARA

Acting Director

MONICA MITCHELL

MONICA MITCHELL

Sr. Economic Developer

CHRISTOPHER CHAVEZ

CHRISTOPHER CHAVEZ

Planner

CHANDLER KAY

CHANDLER KAY

Executive Assistant

SARAH WHEELER

SARAH WHEELER

Marketing & Communications Coordinator

SONJA ROMERO

SONJA ROMERO

Economic Development Coordinator

Film Office Team

CYNDY MCCROSSEN

CYNDY MCCROSSEN

Film Liaison

REBECCA CAVALIER

REBECCA CAVALIER

Film Coordinator

SANTANA GARCIA

SANTANA GARCIA

Film Permit Assistant

Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) Business Center Team

GABRIELA MARQUES

GABRIELA MARQUES

MBDA Center Director

MIKE SILVA

MIKE SILVA

MBDA Business Advisor

CARMEN CHAVIRA

CARMEN CHAVIRA

Business Advisor

Workforce Development Team

MARK ZIENTEK

MARK ZIENTEK

Workforce Liaison

TESS TAYLOR

TESS TAYLOR

Early Childhood Careers Navigator

International Trade Office Team

RANDY TRASK

RANDY TRASK

Manager

CELESTE NUÑEZ

CELESTE NUÑEZ

Program Manager